DOSbox Game Discussion

All other discussions.

Moderator: Kenya

DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Ragdoll » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:57 pm

DOSbox is a program that runs certain games, such as WOLF, LION, and, the less popular one, Simant.

My personal favourite is LION, made by the same person as WOLF. I think that all of these games are fantastic, all the work put into them.

If anyone plays LION, I am Maji, and I had been wondering for awhile, and then found a pride. I defeated the alpha female and took over the pride, and mated with the alpha male, Achilles a few times, not successfully. Then, there was a nomad around and I mated with him, and this time it was successful. I'm not sure exactly how many days had elapsed when I mated, but it's been over 200 days now, and still no cubs. I usually eat sleep and drink, then speed it up a week, and it's a pattern. Would this affect when the cubs are born?
Image Image
Image Image
User avatar
Ragdoll
Cardinal Chick
 
Posts: 2304
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby animalguy888 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:49 pm

Ragdoll wrote:DOSbox is a program that runs certain games, such as WOLF, LION, and, the less popular one, Simant.

My personal favourite is LION, made by the same person as WOLF. I think that all of these games are fantastic, all the work put into them.

If anyone plays LION, I am Maji, and I had been wondering for awhile, and then found a pride. I defeated the alpha female and took over the pride, and mated with the alpha male, Achilles a few times, not successfully. Then, there was a nomad around and I mated with him, and this time it was successful. I'm not sure exactly how many days had elapsed when I mated, but it's been over 200 days now, and still no cubs. I usually eat sleep and drink, then speed it up a week, and it's a pattern. Would this affect when the cubs are born?


I used to play lion. But now it comes up with an error. I plan to work on it evenutally. I have never mated sucsessfuly but would like to figure it out evenually. Any tips on fixing the hr hires error...
Image
Image
Image

"There is beauty in every Creature, Stone, and Plant. To find it you Just have to look for It."


Click here if you dare!...

Image
User avatar
animalguy888
Adult Gecko
 
Posts: 1546
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:42 am
Location: In the sky hunting for a hybrid between superman and bigfoot in an alternate universe

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Ragdoll » Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:23 pm

All I know about running lion, is that the folder must be in c:, not program files or anything like that, and you must have the lion.exe application in a folder named lion, in C:. Try redownloading the files and placing them in the folder again if it still isn't working, this happend to me with WOLF and this fixed it. Make sure the folder is named lion and make sure you have the lion.exe in this folder, and these are the commands:

mount c c:/lion

c:

cd lion

lion

That's all the help I can give, if it doesn't make sense tell me and I'll explain it better :3
Image Image
Image Image
User avatar
Ragdoll
Cardinal Chick
 
Posts: 2304
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby StarWolf » Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:25 pm

I've never managed to get cubs on lion. Dunno if I ever mated 'succesfully', but when I would press the key to find out if my female was fertile('e' or 'u' I think), she would roll around and then I would mate with the male. Did this about 20 times throughout a few weeks, and no cubs. .-.
http://tea-shell.deviantart.com/

InGame name: Esari or Starwolf
I respond to StarWolf/Star or Teashell/Tea
User avatar
StarWolf
Adult Cardinal
 
Posts: 2634
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Ragdoll » Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:50 pm

If you regularily press U and she never rolls over, she's pregnant. The pregnancy will last 110 days. :3
Image Image
Image Image
User avatar
Ragdoll
Cardinal Chick
 
Posts: 2304
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby StarWolf » Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:58 pm

Never knew that... I guess in that case, the alpha male is sterile or something. |: Feh... I should get LION again. Simant, too. Both were very amusing.
My favorite passtime in simant was barracading the red ants from their nest. 8)
http://tea-shell.deviantart.com/

InGame name: Esari or Starwolf
I respond to StarWolf/Star or Teashell/Tea
User avatar
StarWolf
Adult Cardinal
 
Posts: 2634
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Ragdoll » Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:01 pm

Lol, I liked when I killed the queen ant I just went in and made like, a whole bunch of different entrances and things and totally ruined the setup of their nest hahaha
Image Image
Image Image
User avatar
Ragdoll
Cardinal Chick
 
Posts: 2304
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby animalguy888 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:02 pm

help with the hr hires error?
Image
Image
Image

"There is beauty in every Creature, Stone, and Plant. To find it you Just have to look for It."


Click here if you dare!...

Image
User avatar
animalguy888
Adult Gecko
 
Posts: 1546
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:42 am
Location: In the sky hunting for a hybrid between superman and bigfoot in an alternate universe

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Renesmai » Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:03 am

I think if you speed up the time on lion, you still have to wait 110 days, as the speeding up affect will not speed up the days until a cub is born.

Also, I'm not really sure about that error, animalguy.
Sorry.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Renesmai
Bluebird Chick
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:50 am
Location: Stuck here on the moon~♫

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby dinoman » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:56 pm

I have Lion, and Simant, and on my old laptop I had Wolf. It's hard to play Simant with the Dosbox being small, and it freezes when I enlarge it. Help please? (Also, is Bob from Lion sterile?)
dinoman
Adult Mouse
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:37 pm
Location: Eating your soul...

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Renesmai » Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:47 pm

dinoman wrote:I have Lion, and Simant, and on my old laptop I had Wolf. It's hard to play Simant with the Dosbox being small, and it freezes when I enlarge it. Help please? (Also, is Bob from Lion sterile?)


Hmm, about the enlarging problem, have you tried looking for a full screen setting? I think WOLF has it, but I haven't played simant in a looooong time, so I'm not sure if that's an option or not.

Also, about Bob from Lion being sterile, I will have to check that out myself.
I don't usually use him in my prides, but I can check it out if you'd like. Could take some time though.


EDIT: I found a version with sound, which is quite hard to come by. I'm going to test it out soon.

EDIT EDIT: Bah. The sound doesn't work. Ah well.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Renesmai
Bluebird Chick
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:50 am
Location: Stuck here on the moon~♫

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Foxesrule » Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:20 am

Is there a way to attack other ants in Simant?
Your neighbourhood moderator.
Feel free to PM me if you have any questions or just want to chat. c:
Image
what am i doing with my life..?
User avatar
Foxesrule
Cardinal Chick
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:41 pm
Location: Slaying dragons in Skyrim.

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Renesmai » Mon Oct 22, 2012 2:38 pm

Foxesrule wrote:Is there a way to attack other ants in Simant?



I believe you just walk up to the other ant (who has to be of the enemy colour) and you should 'fight'.

Do note that a worker ant will probably die against a soldier ant.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Renesmai
Bluebird Chick
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:50 am
Location: Stuck here on the moon~♫

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Foxesrule » Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:08 am

Renesmai wrote:
Foxesrule wrote:Is there a way to attack other ants in Simant?



I believe you just walk up to the other ant (who has to be of the enemy colour) and you should 'fight'.

Do note that a worker ant will probably die against a soldier ant.

I always die, even as a soldier ant.
Your neighbourhood moderator.
Feel free to PM me if you have any questions or just want to chat. c:
Image
what am i doing with my life..?
User avatar
Foxesrule
Cardinal Chick
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:41 pm
Location: Slaying dragons in Skyrim.

Re: DOSbox Game Discussion

Postby Renesmai » Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:34 am

Foxesrule wrote:
Renesmai wrote:
Foxesrule wrote:Is there a way to attack other ants in Simant?



I believe you just walk up to the other ant (who has to be of the enemy colour) and you should 'fight'.

Do note that a worker ant will probably die against a soldier ant.

I always die, even as a soldier ant.



Hmm... Is your food/energy bar full? If it isn't maybe that's the cause, but if not, then I'm not entirely sure.

If you keep dying (even with the food bar full), perhaps you should just recruit some other ants from your colony and try and stay away from fighting?
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Renesmai
Bluebird Chick
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:50 am
Location: Stuck here on the moon~♫

Next

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron